World Amateur Snooker Champions

The competition is correctly titled the IBSF World Snooker Championship and has been played in it’s current format since 1963.

As you can see by past winners, there are many famous names that have since turned professional and gone on to win the World Professional Snooker Championship. (see a full list of Professional World Snooker Champions here – 1969 onwards).

Many players have become well known on the professional circuit, names like Doug Mountjoy, David Taylor, Cliff Wilson, Ken Doherty, Stuart Bingham, Jimmy White, James Wattana, Marco Fu, Stephen Maguire and Alfie Burden.

Since the early eighties it can be seen that any stranglehold the ‘Home Nations’ had on the crown has ceased and players from all over the world have reached the pinnacle of the amateur game to become World Amateur Snooker Champion.  

Here is a list of the ‘World Amateur Snooker Champions’:

World Amateur Snooker Champions

Year Champion Nationality
1963 Gary Owen Wales
1966 Gary Owen Wales
1968 David Taylor England
1970 Jonathon Barron England 
1972 Ray Edmonds England 
1974 Ray Edmonds England 
1976 Doug Mountjoy Wales 
1978 Cliff Wilson Wales 
1980 Jimmy White England 
1982 Terry Parsons Wales 
1984 Omprakesh Agrawal India 
1985 Paul Mifsud Malta 
1986 Paul Mifsud Malta 
1987 Darren Morgan Wales 
1988 James Wattana Thailand 
1989 Ken Doherty Republic of Ireland 
1990 Stephen O’Connor Republic of Ireland 
1991 Noppadon Noppachorn Thailand 
1992 Neil Mosley England 
1993 Chuchart Triritanapradit Thailand 
1994 Mohammed Yousuf Pakistan 
1995 Sakchai Sim-Ngam Thailand 
1996 Stuart Bingham England 
1997 Marco Fu Hong Kong 
1998 Luke Simmonds England 
1999 Ian Preece Wales 
2000 Stephen Maguire Scotland 
2002 Steve Mifsud Australia 
2003 Pankaj Advani India 
2004 Mark Allen Northern Ireland 
2006 Michael White Wales 
2006 Kurt Maflin Norway 
2007 Atthasit Mahitthi Thailand 
2008 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh Thailand 
2009 Alfie Burden England 
2010 Dechawat Poomjaeng Thailand 
2011 Hossein Vafaei Iran 
2012 Muhammad Asif Pakistan 
2013 Zhou Yuelong China 
2014 Yan Bingtao China 
2015 Pankaj Advani India 
2016 Soheil Vahedi Iran 
2017 Soheil Vahedi Iran 
2018 Yangon Myanmar Burma 
2018 Muhammad Asif Pakistan