Masters Snooker Champions

This event is secondly only to the World Snooker Championship on the professional snooker players tournament calendar.

The tournament started out at the ‘West Centre Hotel’ in London in 1975 and then moved to the ‘New London Theatre, the Wembley Conference Centre, The Wembley Arena and finally Alexandra Palace where it is played today.

Ronnie O’Sullivan leads the way with 7 title wins followed closely by Stephen Hendry on 6.

There have been 3 maximum breaks in ‘The Masters’ over the years made by Kirk Stevens (1984), Ding Junhui (2007) and Marco Fu (2015).

As a point of note, no ‘Wild Card’ players have ever won the title! 

Here is a list of the ‘Masters Snooker Champions’:

Masters Snooker Champions

Year Champion Nationality
1975 John Spencer England
1976 Ray Reardon Wales 
1977 Doug Mountjoy Wales 
1978 Alex Higgins Northern Ireland 
1979 Perrie Mans South Africa 
1980 Terry Griffiths Wales 
1981 Alex Higgins Northern Ireland 
1982 Steve Davis England 
1983 Cliff Thorburn Canada
1984 Jimmy White England 
1985 Cliff Thorburn Canada 
1986 Cliff Thorburn Canada 
1987 Dennis Taylor Northern Ireland 
1988 Steve Davis England 
1989 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1990 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1991 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1992 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1993 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1994 Alan McManus Scotland 
1995 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
1996 Stephen Hendry Scotland 
1997 Steve Davis England 
1998 Mark Williams Wales 
1999 John Higgins Scotland 
2000 Matthew Stevens Wales 
2001 Paul Hunter England 
2002 Paul Hunter England 
2003 Mark Williams Wales 
2004 Paul Hunter England 
2005 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2006 John Higgins Scotland 
2007 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2008 Mark Selby England 
2009 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2010 Mark Selby England 
2011 Ding Junhui China 
2012 Neil Robertson Australia 
2013 Mark Selby England 
2014 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2015 Shaun Murphy England 
2016 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2017 Ronnie O’Sullivan England 
2018 Mark Allen Northern Ireland
2019 Judd Trump England
2020 Stuart Bingham England
2021 Yan Bingtao China